Work in progress (Part 1)

We all struggle with our own marketing and self-promotion. After all, we’re professional critics of design and message quality. So it seems our own work, when serving ourselves as the client, is never quite good enough for us to launch.

Yet I’ve been encouraged by creative coach RaShelle Roberts of inVision to do just that, and share my own experience with these challenges.

I feel strongly about supporting the design colleagues who invite me to collaborate on branding and marketing projects for their clients. This blog is something I’ve thought about for a very long time. And, even now, part of me says it’s far from “ready.” 

I still want to define my services better, polish the elevator pitch, add a client list, find more perfect visuals, tweak the type, add more widgets (or not), align a domain name and an email address, create a portfolio … and continue researching what everyone else does with their blogs.

I’ve also come to appreciate Voltaire’s observation that “the perfect is the enemy of the good.”

This blog will change. It will improve, become more focused, useful and refined. It will reflect where I find myself in my collaborations with design professionals as we get better at what it is we do.

Like our careers, it always will be a work in progress. I’m getting comfortable with that idea.

2 Responses to “Work in progress (Part 1)”


  1. 1 stefanie jenzeh December 17, 2008 at 4:25 am

    bravo robert. you’re way ahead of the game here, and I love your humble honest sincere approach. i think this will prove to be a powerful tool for you…key is getting people to get to your site to read your material. i enjoy watching this develop!! i think your design is clean and just right for you. maybe a headshot to add a bit of personality. let me know if I can crop/photoshop something for you to post, as a friend of course.

  2. 2 stefanie jenzeh December 17, 2008 at 7:04 am

    man I accidentally erased what I wrote… so in a nutshell:
    EXCELLENT START !!!!!!!!!
    I think your design serves you well, nice and clean ~ allows for your clear thinking to come through. Maybe personalize a eeny weeny bit more, like a photo of you? (or did I miss something)… anyways, CONGRATS Meistro. You’re on the roll.

    I appreciate your grounded, honest and kind way of putting your feelings to words.

    Stef


Leave a Reply

Robert Hyndman

can be reached at his Laguna Beach studio, 949.497.3179, or by using the form on the Contact Me page.
December 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Categories


